Plea to Citigroup: Stop Emailing Me Part Deux


Sigh. Since my original email about Citibank spamming me, I wrote directly to William R. Rhodes, CEO of Citibank (see Citibank Letter). Typically, writing to the CEO gets an immediate response. I sent this out on September 31, 2007.

And what happens?  No, I didn’t hear anything from Citibank. Instead, I received yet another a spam email (see below) that was the crux of my original frustrating situation. ARGH!

Isn’t this a great way to engage with your customers, especially when you consider I’m used both old school (snail mailing a letter) and new school (blogging about my frustration) ways to highlight my situation. 

I know I said I would write to the BBB and DMA in my last post. I thought, just thought, that writing to the CEO would actually elicit a response. Boy was I wrong. 

Check out the latest “offer” below. Note irony of adding money to an e-savings account that I closed in May.

Obviously, they’re using “updated” information about my relationship with them. Or do they think I’m expendable for the sake of getting some of their customers to click through on their offers? 

Me thinks Citibank needs to read Permission Marketing by Seth Godin.  Next stop, more letter writing…

Citibank Email

Technorati Tags:

One response to “Plea to Citigroup: Stop Emailing Me Part Deux

  1. This new year the web will come of age. Quality will prevail as the cream rises to the surface