8 days later


by Balakov via Flickr

by Balakov via Flickr

 So it’s just been over a week since I was laid off and 5 days since my husband was laid off. I thought I’ll give a little update which is also being cross posted to Survival Mode.

 

It’s definitely been a very rocky week, to say the least. I can’t believe it’s only been 8 days since I was laid off – it seems like it happened years ago. When you’re laid off, you not only go through an emotional roller coaster but also time takes on a strange element. You know that the hours and days are ticking off but you lose sense of the actual time or date.

 

Rather, we seem to rush in the morning- sending out resumes, making calls, finalizing paperwork – anything to just rectify this situation. And then suddenly, by 2 or 3 pm, it seems we have nothing more to do (which is why I’m writing this post right now). Event then, we can’t look too far into the future or even the next day, we take everything hour by hour.

We’re emotionally and physically drained. But each of us have had some promising conversations, which gives us hope that one of us will be employed soon.

Despite the strict budget we have, we’re going to see a movie tonight. Granted, we’re using a gift card and seeing a matinée. In the end, we need some entertainment to divorce us from reality, even if for only a couple of hours.

Thanks again to all of our friends and family who have reached out to us and provided us with support – both tangible and intangible. Without you, I don’t know how we would’ve been able to go through this first week.

Thanks again and have a good weekend.

technorati tags:  
del.icio.us tags:  
icerocket tags:  

All content copyright Cece Salomon-Lee, Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported, with the attribution: By Cece Salomon-Lee, PR Meets Marketing, and a link to the post.

5 responses to “8 days later

  1. Keep your chin up, my friend. I’ve been through this and my husband just went through this. And there is nothing to say it won’t happen to us again. Don’t be afraid to reach out and ask for support, help or a shoulder. Good thoughts headed your way.

  2. andysantamaria

    Found you through a tweet from Jeremiah Owyang. Your blog illuminates a very really economy situation. I’m still a student but I don’t have much left before I’ll be in a similar situation looking for a job. take care!

  3. @susan @andysantamaria thanks for your kind thoughts. We’re being optimistic and are learning from the situation to be better prepared the next time around.

  4. My heart goes out to you and your husband. I believe that with your extrememly creative talents and tenacious approach to life, you guys are going to come out of this even better than before.

  5. @scott thanks so much for your thoughts. If this doesn’t make our marriage stronger, I don’t know what will =)