Beyond PR Measurement: PR’s Role in Marketing


When I first started writing this blog, I was so excited to learn about new ways that public relations could be measured from a marketing perspective. But as I thought about this more, I realized that what I am learning goes beyond measurement – it’s the role of PR in marketing. And frankly, K.D. Paine has her pulse on the measurement side of things!

My first post looked at what PR agencies need to do to gain my trust for PR services. Taking this a step further, by understanding the issues behind marketing, we, as PR practitioners, can become more intelligent on how to gain a seat at the table with marketing and truly evaluate the impact of PR on an organization.

With this larger view of how PR can work with marketing, I’ve changed my subhead to read “What I learned in-house – how marketing is changing how I practice PR” vs. how it’s impacting how I measure PR. I believe this will provide more fodder for a wider set of topics. With that said, let me know if you have any topics that you would like explored, and I’ll try my best.

Technorati Tags:

Comments are closed.